2012 IAWP Conference (St. John’s, NL)

The International Association of Women Police (IAWP) 2012 Conference took place in St. John’s, NL – Sept. 9-13, 2012 and the AWLE was a hosting partner. The conference was a major success with 713 participants from 56 countries participating. Congratulations to all who worked so hard putting this conference together. Your hard work and dedication showed the world what exceptional people we have working with us.

AWLE Annual Awards 2012

The Atlantic Women in Law Enforcement (AWLE) presented its annual awards on November

30, 2012, at Government House in Halifax.  Each year the AWLE recognizes the contributions of women (and in some cases their male coworkers) through the presentation of awards and this

year it was an honour for the AWLE to have these awards presented at Government House of Nova Scotia at a ceremony hosted by the Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia, His Honour Brigadier – General the Honourable J.J. Grant, CMM, ONS, CD (Ret’d). Nova Scotia Minister of Justice, Honourable Ross Landry, attended and addressed the attendees. The ceremony was also attended by Assistant Commissioner Alphonse MacNeil,  the Commanding Officer of Nova Scotia RCMP,  Chief Jean-Michel Blais of Halifax Regional Police, Acting Chief Leanne Fitch

of Fredericton Police Force, and  Superintendant Marlene Snowman, representing New

Brunswick RCMP, as well as coworkers, friends, and family of award recipients.

From l-r: Cst. Patricia (Trish) Kennedy, Cst. Janet Smith, Cpl. Trish Levesque, Cpl. Denise Roussel, Their Honours Brigadier-General the Honourable J.J. Grant, CMM, ONS, CD (Ret’d), Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia and Mrs. Joan Grant, Cst. Samantha McInnis, Cst. Jeff Smiley, Cst. Shawn Fraser, and Cpl. Dwight Doyle.