2004 AWLE Conference & Award Winners (Saint John, NB)

Saint John Police Force
Host the 2004 AWLE Conference

The Saint John Police Force and the Rothesay co-hosted the 12th annual Atlantic Women in Law Enforcement Training Conference and Awards banquet October 27th to 29th. The conference theme “Balancing our Futures – In mind, body and spirit” focused on various training topics. In attendance was the first male attendee, Cst. Dean Secord, President of the New Brunswick Police Association and Director of the Canadian Professional Police Association. Agencies in attendance included: Municipal Police Agencies, the RCMP, Military Police, Canada Border

Services Agency, Department of Natural Resources, Department of Fisheries and Oceans, Citizenship and Immigration Canada, Corrections, Ontario Women in Law Enforcement.

This years’ Annual General meeting of 2004 marked an executive election year for the Atlantic Women in Law Enforcement. The outgoing president Lisa Jackson of the Nova Scotia Department of Justice will be remaining on the executive as past president. Incumbent Cst. Chris MacNaughton of RCMP Fredericton, New Brunswick will be in the lead role for the Association. Other executive members include: Detective Carol Campbell Waugh of the Halifax Regional Police, Sergeant Liz Chisholm Saint John Police, Sergeant Leanne Fitch Fredericton Police, Cst. Paula Raymond RCMP, Nova Scotia, Cst. Sara McElman Fredericton Police and Corporal Kelly Moore-Reid Truro Police Service.

The conference theme was “Balancing our Futures – In mind, body and spirit” and focused on various training topics including Tunnel Vision – keeping objectivity in homicide investigations by Ontario Provincial Police Mary McLauglin, Polygraph, monitoring, and managing sex offenders by retired Metro Toronto officer Frank Wozniak, Motivation and Balance by PeggyPorter, Insight into Issues of Canadian Security as it relates to terrorism by Roy Hiller of the RCMP, Ground Zero – experiences by Murray Brewster of Canadian Press Halifax, Mothers Against Drunk Drivers and the Silent Witness Program – a dramatic skit on Woman Abuse presented by the Muriel McQueen Fergusson Foundation and center for Family Violence Research, Charlotte County Family Violence Committee and Provincial Caring partnerships committee.

The conference highlighted was the annual uniform parade, followed by the Awards presentation recognizing outstanding female officers in Atlantic Canada.

This years’ award winners were:

Officer of the year

Cpl. Pat Fox of RCMP Codiac, New Brunswick


Cpl. Amy Mitchell of RCMP Natuashish, Labrador

Community Service

Cst. Wendy Ruby of RCMP Customs and Excise, Halifax, NS


Cst. Lynn Tardif RCMP of Cole Harbour, NS

Excellence in Performance

Cpl. Amy Mitchell of RCMP Natuashish, Labrador

Medal of Valor

Cst. Wendy Ruby of RCMP Customs and Excise, Halifax, NS